Living in District Boundaries: Why Jackie Robinson West being stripped of their title is all about Race

The Uppity Negro

JRW trophy

In full disclosure, I am a native Chicagoan.

I proudly state “I was born and raised, South Side of Chicago” and I wear it like a blue ribbon earned in a 1st grade spelling bee.  Being able to claim the South Side of Chicago is a badge of honor amongst other blacks like being able to say you were born and raised in Harlem or West Side of Detroit.  It rings with a certain air of positive black culture.  Growing up in the 1990s, I was a child of hearing the gruesome news stories about the crime and violence from the projects not overly far from the Hyde Park/Kenwood neighborhood I was raised, but I’ll never forget the story of Lenard Clark in 1997.

I was the same age as Lenard Clark and he was beat up by fellow white teenagers in the Bridgeport neighborhood of Chicago.  The perpetrators…

View original post 2,565 more words

Leave a Reply

