The Dark Side of Colorism

First you Survive/ Then you Thrive

So it is Black History Month… now what.

I am struck by and a tad stuck on the issues of “colorism”

.Colorism, a term coined by Alice Walker in 1982, means discrimination based on skin color, or colorism, is a form of prejudice or discrimination in which human beings are treated differently based on the social meanings attached to skin color.

I am a mother of two sons and a daughter. We are dark skinned Black Americans.

im black yall

I brought my children up as I had been. To love my complexion, it is a badge of honor.

The unscathed, unbroken symbol of a great and mighty people. We are the descendants of those who fought to survive.

I gave them family pride, cultural pride and racial pride, and more importantly personal pride.

So keeping this in mind I have recently been inundated with studies that document that…

View original post 757 more words

Leave a Reply

