can an African American appropriate African Culture? can a Polish American appropriate Polish Culture?

First you Survive/ Then you Thrive

So I read this article

For the life of me, I need to know:

Can Black people culturally appropriate one other?

It’s a nuanced question that seems to either set tempers aflare or create vacuums of silence in a room but, after going through pictures taken at the latest Afropunk Festival, it’s definitely one that I have to ask.

And if Blacks can, why is the disgust and uproar surrounding this ongoing phenomenon only reserved for instances when White people appropriate us?

https://thsppl.com/black-america-please-stop-appropriating-african-clothing-and-tribal-marks-3210e65843a7

Please read the article for yourself so that I don’t influence you with my interpretation of the authors query.

my response to the article was as visceral as it was not nuanced. I felt orphaned yet again. Having been stolen from my mother by a father who didnt love to learn that my mother didnt care either really pissed me off.

1. My first thought was…

View original post 410 more words

Leave a Reply

